Advising

Advisors help you choose the coursework that fulfills the departmental requirements -- as well as your own personal learning goals. They are also an excellent resource for finding answers to any questions that you might have. And when it comes time to convert your units into a degree, they are the ones who will sign the proper forms.

Undergraduate Advising

Undergraduate students choose their own advisors within their area of concentration.

Undergraduate Writing Programs

Trainor, Jennifer Jennifer Trainor 
Writing Program Coordinator
Email: jtrainor@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-1711
   
Priya Abeywickrama
CMS Co-Coordinator
Email: abeywick@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-3095
Heyer, Lisa Lisa Heyer
CMS Co-Coordinator
Email: lheyer@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-1320

English Education

Morris, Paul Paul Morris
English Ed Coordinator
Email: pmorris@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-1575
Jim Gilligan
Assistant Professor
Email: jimrgill@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 405-2454

Linguistics Program

Jenny Lederer
Linguistics Coordinator
Email: lederer@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7464
Smirnova, Anastasia Anastasia Smirnova
Assistant Professor
Email: smirnova@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-3102

Literature Program

William Christmas
Literature Coordinator
Email: xmas@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7463

Sarita Cannon
Associate Professor
Email: sncannon@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7462

DeGuzman, Kathleen

Kathleen DeGuzman
Assistant Professor
Email: krfd@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-1886

Wai-Leung Kwok
Associate Professor
Email: wkwok@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-1459
Meg Schoerke
Professor
Email: schoerke@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-3099
Summer Star
Assistant Professor
Email: sstar@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-2240
Loretta Stec
Professor
Email: lstec@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-1451
   

Technical and Professional Writing Advising

  • Visit Technical and Professional Writing Advising for more specific information.
Neil Lindeman
TPW Coordinator
Email: nlindeman@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7414

 

                          

 

                                     

Graduate Advising

As students become more familiar with the department, they may wish to change their advisor. Students may do on their own without notifying the department office, but should keep their advisors informed of any changes. Until that time, students are welcome -- and encouraged -- to meet with their assigned advisor.

All newly admitted students are required to see their advisors before their first semester of attendance, if possible, or by the second week of classes. The graduate coordinator offers a general advising orientation just before the start of each new semester. Information about this orientation is usually announced to all new students by mail or email. It is recommended that students see their advisors to shape their programs initially and then to gain approval for subsequent course choices. In general, students should contact their advisor for an appointment.

Graduate students are assigned an advisor by the English Department, but are welcome to choose a different advisor at any time. If you do decide to change advisors, please inform the English Department and the previous advisor.

M.A. Composition Program & related Certificate Programs

Mark Roberge
Composition Coordinator
Email: roberge@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-

                                                                 

M.A. Linguistics Program

Jenny Lederer
Linguistics Coordinator
Email: lederer@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7464
Smirnova, Anastasia Anastasia Smirnova
Assistant Professor
Email: smirnova@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7464

M.A. Literature Program

Julie Paulson
Literature Coordinator
Email: jpaulson@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-3107
Geoffrey Green
Professor
Email: ggreen@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7414
   
Sara Hackenberg
Associate Professor
Email: shackenb@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7453
       

M.A. TESOL Program

Olsher, David David Olsher
TESOL Coordinator
Email: olsher@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-2827