Advising

Advisors

Advisors help you choose the coursework that fulfills the departmental requirements -- as well as your own personal learning goals. They are also an excellent resource for finding answers to any questions that you might have. And when it comes time to convert your units into a degree, they are the ones who will sign the proper forms.

Undergraduate Advisors

Undergraduate students choose their own advisors within their area of concentration.

Composition for Multilingual Students Program

Lisa Heyer
Lecturer and Coordinator
Email: lheyer@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-1320

English Education

Paul Morris
Assistant Professor
Email: pmorris@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-1575

Jim Gilligan
Assistant Professor
Email: jimrgill@sfsu.edu
Phone: 415-405-2454

Linguistics Program

Jenny Lederer
Assistant Professor
Email: lederer@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-7464

Literature Program

Sarita Cannon
Associate Professor
Email: sncannon@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-7462

William Christmas
Professor and Coordinator
Email: xmas@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-7463

Michael Krasny
Professor
Email: mkrasny@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-2118

Wai-Leung Kwok
Associate Professor
Email: wkwok@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-1459

Jennifer Mylander
Associate Professor
Email: mylander@sfsu.edu
Phone: No phone

Meg Schoerke
Professor
Email: schoerke@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-3099

Summer Star
Assistant Professor
Email: sstar@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-2240

Loretta Stec
Professor
Email: lstec@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-1451


Graduate Advisors

Graduate students are assigned an advisor by the English Department, but are welcome to choose a different advisor at any time. If you do decide to change advisors, please inform the English Department and the previous advisor.

M.A. Composition Program & related Certificate Programs

Mark Roberge
Professor
Email: roberge@sfsu.edu
Phone: (415) 338-7457

M.A. Linguistics Program

Jenny Lederer
Assistant Professor
Email: lederer@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-7464

M.A. Literature Program

Geoffrey Green
Professor
Email: ggreen@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-7414

Sara Hackenberg
Associate Professor
Email: shackenb@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-7453

Julie Paulson
Associate Professor and Coordinator
Email: jpaulson@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-3107

Gitanjali Shahani
Associate Professor
Email: gshahani@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-2119

Lynn Wardley
Assistant Professor
Email: lwardley@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-3112

M.A. TESOL Program

David Olsher
Associate Professor
Email: olsher@sfsu.edu
Phone: 338-2827

Related Resources


TPW Advising

There are three times during your progress through our program when you must seek advising.

Spring 2017 Course Descriptions

Detailed Spring 2017 Course Descriptions

  • Undergraduate Writing Program Courses
  • English Education Program Courses
  • Composition Gradtuate Program Courses
  • Linguistics Program Courses
  • Literature Program Courses
  • MA TESOL Program Courses
  • Technical & Professional Writing Courses 

Current Class Schedule

See the department's class schedule for the semester.

  • Undergraduate Writing Program Courses
  • CMS Program Courses
  • English Education Program Courses
  • Composition Graduate Program Courses
  • Linguistics Program Courses
  • Literature Program Courses
  • MA TESOL Program Courses
  • Technical & Professional Writing Courses 

Advising: Undergraduate Literature Program

All Literature majors should schedule an appointment with a faculty undergraduate advisor as soon as possible after declaring their major. Students are not assigned to specific advisors; they can choose from the list of faculty advisors and are not required to see the same advisor throughout their time at SFSU

MA TESOL Requirements and Guidelines

Graduate Advising

All incoming MA students are assigned an advisor by the graduate secretary. Students should check their admission letter for their advisor's name and contact information.

CMS Advising

All CMS faculty members are available for advising at the beginning of each semester.